2,092 Delegates For PDP Ekiti Governorship Primaries Today

news politics
Like this?

Ahead of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Ekiti State governorship  primaries today, a total of  2,092 delegates are scheduled to participate in the process which will produce the party’s candidate for the July 14 gubernatorial election.

The National Publicity Secretary, Mr Kola Ologbondiyan, who gave the breakdown to newsmen yesterday in Abuja, said there are 16 national delegates, 1585 statutory delegates and 491adhoc delegates.

The 1, 585 Statutory delegates are made up of the party officials, current and past elected councillors, council chairman, former State Working Committee members, members of NASS; former federal lawmakers, former Speakers,’ serving and former members of NEC who are still members of the party and former governors.

The adhoc delegates consist of the three delegates elected from each of the wards in the state.

Already, three aspirants have been cleared by the PDP Screening Committee for the primaries of the party.

The aspirants are; the incumbent deputy governor, Olusola Kolapo Eleka; Senator Abiodun Olujimi and immediate past National Publicity Secretary of PDP, Prince Dayo Adeyeye.

Ologbondiyan assured that the three aspirants have agreed to accept the outcome of today’s primary and to support whoever emerges as party candidate.

The party’s spokesman noted that the three aspirants are happy with arrangements for the primary, because the national leadership of the party has operated by the rules and guidelines of the party.

He said “the three aspirants are happy with all arrangements so far, and have assured they will support whoever emerges.

“We want to assure you that there will be peace in Ekiti. Our only concern is hoodlums from the other parties, but they will not have access to the venue.

“The processes leading to the primary are very transparent and that is why there have not been any complaints from them.

“The party is desirous of sticking to the rules and make sure popular candidate emerges,” he said.

The Ekiti governorship Electoral committee is headed by Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta state, while the party’s National Chairman, Prince Uche Secondus will preside over the Appeal Committee.

All other members of the National Working Committee, NWC, are also members of the Appeal Committee.


Spread the love
READ ALSO  2019 election: Sowore reacts as Oby Ezekwesili withdraws from presidential race

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *